MacKenzie Fuentes at the Democratic National Convention

Recent CSOC graduate (’11) MacKenzie Fuentes send us a note from the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, to let us know how she wound up there.

“I worked for the Washington State Democratic Central Committee in the spring. I was the state convention coordinator. At the end of my contract, my supervisor asked if I wanted to go to the DNC, and I said ‘%#@* yeah!’ or something like that. The Committee sponsored me, and now I’m here as a page!”

“Basically I help staff with the credentialing process, events, babysitting the delegates, etc. The best part is, I get a ‘floor credential,’ so I can go down on the convention floor.”

MacKenzie has just started a two year public policy advocacy fellowship with WashPIRG, but she says she’d love to work with the Democratic Party again in the future. While at the DNC she’s run into numerous policy makers as well as celebrities from Jeff Bridges to Kal Penn to the Daily Show’s John Oliver. She claims it’s a great opportunity, but that it’s nearly impossible to get any sleep.

Have a great time at the convention, MacKenzie, we’re proud of you!

Leave a Reply

