Introducing Jason Struna

The UPS Department of Sociology and Anthropology would like to welcome Jason Struna to its faculty this year.  Here is a little bit about him.

Jason at the Port of LA/ Long Beach aboard the USS Iowa

Jason at the Port of LA/ Long Beach aboard the USS Iowa

First things first: Thank you for welcoming me to such a warm and collegial place!  I feel very fortunate to have landed among kindred spirits in a great community of learners and researchers.

Like many of you, I am originally from elsewhere in the west—I was born and raised in Denver, Colorado, and just completed my Ph.D. in sociology last spring at the University of California Riverside.  Somehow, Tacoma seems at once familiar and new at the same time,     so it’s an exciting place to call home.

My teaching and research interests have always significantly overlapped, and I intend to continue that trend here in SOAN.  Having been trained as a labor process sociologist, my dissertation focused on warehouses and distribution centers in Southern California, and relationships among workers and firms in that industry.  While a significant theme of that work emphasized the impacts of globalization on those relationships, it also considered the role of labor and community organizations in mitigating some of the social problems workers in the region experienced.  As a result of contact with those groups, I was able to help many of my students engage in internships and experiential learning activities that developed into their own research and activist projects.  My goal is to continue that tradition of cooperative fieldwork, learning with and from our students on and off campus.

Warehouse workers, marching on strike against Walmart contractors and temporary agencies, joined by members of United Farm Workers unveiling their flag in East LA (2012).

Warehouse workers, marching on strike against Walmart contractors and temporary agencies, joined by members of United Farm Workers unveiling their flag in East LA (2012).

I am still getting my feet wet here at Puget Sound, but I am really encouraged by the rich intellectual, social, and personal life enjoyed by students, faculty, and staff in our community. Here’s to collaborating with you all in the classroom and beyond, and thanks again for inviting me to be a part of such a dynamic environment.

Leave a Reply

